Back to Newsroom

Congressional Medal Of Honor Foundation Announces Election Results

Mar 27, 2015, 13:22 ET from Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation

ARLINGTON, Va., March 27, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- The Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation Board of Directors has elected former United Technologies Corp. (UTC) Chairman and CEO Louis R. Chênevert to be its new co-chairman. At the recent Board meeting in New York City, the Directors also elected General Dynamics Chairman and CEO Phebe Novakovic and Raytheon Chairman and CEO Thomas A. Kennedy to the Board.

Chênevert, who retired from UTC last November and has served on the Foundation's Board of Directors since 2008, replaces Bruce Whitman, president & CEO of FlightSafety International, who has served on the Board since 2001 and as the Foundation's co-chairman since 2008. Chênevert will serve as co-chairman with Jack Jacobs, a retired U.S. Army colonel who received the Medal of Honor for his actions during the Vietnam War.  

"I'm honored to take the co-chairmanship of this tremendous organization and I look forward to working with my co-chairman, Medal of Honor Recipient Jack Jacobs, the full Board and the staff to bring character development, board engagement, and national awareness to the next level," Chênevert told the Board. "Our mission is to perpetuate the legacy of the Nation's highest award for valor and the values it embodies – courage and sacrifice, commitment and integrity, citizenship and patriotism. We'll pursue that mission with diligence and respect for the 79 living heroes who wear the Medal proudly for all those who gave the last full measure of devotion."

Speaking about Whitman, who will continue to serve on the Board's executive committee, Chênevert said, "I want to thank Bruce for his deep commitment, passion and all he has accomplished leading the Foundation for the past seven years. We're in a great position because of his leadership."

Chênevert also said, "I want to thank Phebe and Tom, and welcome them to the Board. They are both well known leaders of great companies, and their personal commitment and passion will add immense value to our remarkable Board."

The resident & CEO of the Foundation, Ron Rand, said, "The leadership, knowledge and commitment that Louis, Phebe and Tom bring to the Foundation are invaluable assets and will help us perpetuate the legacy of the Medal of Honor for future generations of Americans. We're so very fortunate to have a Board of Directors that is devoted to preserving and sharing the stories and values of America's heroes with the youth of our great nation."

Chênevert retired from UTC in November 2014 after serving as chairman and CEO for six years. He joined UTC in 1993 and held a number of leadership positions during his tenure, including serving as president of Pratt & Whitney prior to being named the president and chief operating officer of UTC in 2006. Prior to joining UTC Chênevert spent 14 years with General Motors.

Kennedy joined Raytheon in 1983 and was appointed CEO and elected to the company's Board of Directors in January 2013. He was named Chairman of the Board in October 2014. Prior to assuming his current responsibilities, Kennedy was executive vice president and chief operating officer. Prior to joining Raytheon, Kennedy served in the U.S. Air Force where he attained the rank of captain.

Novakovic joined General Dynamics in 2002 and was named chairman and CEO in January 2013. Prior to joining General Dynamics, Novakovic held leadership positions in the U.S. Department of Defense and the Central Intelligence Agency. She is also a member of the Board of Directors for Abbott Laboratories.

About the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation: The Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation was founded in 1999 by the Congressional Medal of Honor Society with the mission to perpetuate the legacy of the Medal through outreach and education. Through its Character Development Program, the Foundation reaches out to the citizens of America, and particularly to young Americans, to promote an awareness of the values embodied in the Medal and to teach that ordinary citizens, through courage, sacrifice, selfless service and patriotism, can make a difference in the lives of others and change the course of history. The Foundation, which also supports the important work of the Congressional Medal of Honor Society, is an IRS 501(c)(3) nonprofit with Tax ID #25-1828488.

About the Congressional Medal of Honor Society: The Congressional Medal of Honor Society was chartered by the Congress in 1958 to create a brotherhood among the living Medal of Honor Recipients, to protect and uphold the dignity and honor of the Medal, to promote patriotism and love of country, and to inspire our youth to become worthy dedicated citizens of our nation. Its membership consists exclusively of those individuals who have received the Medal of Honor. Today, there are 79 living Recipients of the Medal of Honor. The Society is unique in that its membership hopes that there will be no need to welcome new inductees.

CONTACT: Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation, 703-469-1861


SOURCE Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation