ARLINGTON, Va.March 11, 2019 /PRNewswire/ — The Recipients of the Medal of Honor, along with Members of Congress and The Boeing Company, announced last night on Capitol Hill the 20 finalists for the 2019 Congressional Medal of Honor Society Citizen Honors Awards, a nationwide Medal of Honor program that recognizes the heroism and selfless service of Americans.


Since 2008, the Congressional Medal of Honor Society has selected U.S. citizens and community organizations for their acts of courage and selfless service which epitomize the American spirit. In commemoration of National Medal of Honor Day, the Medal of Honor Recipients will recognize these extraordinary American citizens at a March 25 ceremony, made possible by The Boeing Company, at the U.S. Institute of Peace in Washington, D.C.


“The potential to do something extraordinary needs to be honored,” said Medal of Honor Recipient Paul “Bud” Bucha, co-chairman of the 2019 Citizen Honors Honorary Committee. “The Citizen Honors Awards gives the Medal of Honor Recipients the opportunity to shine the spotlight on everyday Americans. These finalists are the best of us.”


Senators Angus King, Jr., from Maine and Rick Scott from Florida along with Congressmen Don Bacon of the 2nd District of NebraskaJim Cooper of the 5th District of Tennessee and Ted Deutch of the 22nd District of Florida were on-hand to announce the Finalists from their states and Congressional districts.


Officials from the offices of Senators Tom Cotton of ArkansasEd Markey of MassachusettsJaclyn Rosen of NevadaThom Tillis of North Carolina, Congresswoman Katie Hill of the 25th District of California and Congressman Tom Ricefrom the 7th District of South Carolina also announced finalists from their states and Congressional districts.


The Congressional Medal of Honor Society Citizen Honors Award finalists for 2019 are:


Single Act of Heroism


Aaron Feis – Parkland, Florida
Blaine Hodge – Bakersfield, California
James Shaw, Jr. – Nashville, Tennessee
Stephen Willeford – San Antonio, Texas
Tammi Jo Shults – San Antonio, Texas


Service Act:


Travis Mills – Hallowell, Maine
Andrew Biggio – East Boston, Massachusetts
Bill and Evonne Williams – Omaha, Nebraska
Ed Torreyson – Centralia, Missouri
Monica Molina – Richmond, Virginia


Young Hero:


Peter Wang – Parkland, Florida
Alex Lowe and Wyatt Lyles – Glasgow, Kentucky
Anthony Borges – Parkland, Florida
Dana Bancroft – Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Tabitha Eaddy – Scranton, Pennsylvania


Community Service Hero:


Healing Household 6 – Jacksonville, North Carolina
Honor Flight Nevada – Reno, Nevada
Leave No Veteran Behind – Chicago, Illinois
Sheep Dog Impact Assistance – Rogers, Arkansas
Operation Gratitude – Los Angeles, California


For more information about the Citizen Honors Award or the Medal of Honor and its Recipients, visit the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation website at


About the Congressional Medal of Honor Society:


The Congressional Medal of Honor Society was chartered by the Congress in 1958 to create a brotherhood among the living Medal of Honor recipients, to protect and uphold the dignity and honor of the Medal, to promote patriotism and love of country, and to inspire our youth to become worthy dedicated citizens of our nation. Its membership consists exclusively of those individuals who have received the Medal of Honor. Today, there are 72 living recipients of the Medal of Honor. The Society is unique in that its membership hopes that there will be no need to welcome new inductees.


About the Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation:


The Congressional Medal of Honor Foundation was founded in 1999 by the Congressional Medal of Honor Society to perpetuate the legacy of the Medal. Through character development, scholarship and citizen recognition programs based on the values embodied in the Medal — courage, sacrifice, selfless service and patriotism — the Foundation teaches all citizens that they can make a difference in the lives of others. The Foundation also supports the important work of the Congressional Medal of Honor Society. A 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization with Tax ID #25-1828488, the Foundation carries a rating of 4/4 stars for fiscal management, accountability and transparency from Charity Navigator, America’s premiere nonprofit evaluator.